The First Teaching of Buddha

The First Turning of the Wheel of Dharma, Chokhor Duchen, is an important holiday in which Buddhist honor the day that the Buddha Shakyamuni first taught the Four Noble Truths ( See list below.) in Sarnath, India, and first turned the Wheel of the Dharma after attaining enlightenment.

Magical Display of the Arts ~ Dharma Wheel and Deer

This year, 2023, we at Vajrayana Foundation will celebrate streaming live from Pema Osel Ling on Friday, July 21st 8am Pacific with Buddha Puja and Tsog. Please join us using this link.  If you would like to make offerings for our teachers, for Tsok, Butter Lamps, general support, or Special Projects, please use this link.

From a temple in Vietnam, Relief of Buddha Giving First Teaching.

The Four Noble Truths are the foundational tenets of Buddhism, which spark awareness of suffering as the nature of existence, its cause, and how to live without it. The truths are understood as the realization which led to the enlightenment of Buddha and were the basis of his teachings.

The Four Noble Truths are:

  • The Truth of Suffering
  • The Truth of the Cause of Suffering
  • The Truth of Freedom from Suffering
  • The Truth of the Way to Eliminate Suffering

The path alluded to in the fourth truth is The Eightfold Path which serves as both a guide on the road to non-attachment and the road itself. The precepts both inform a traveler on how to proceed and provide the way through spiritual discipline. The eight precepts are:

  • Right View
  • Right Intention
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Concentration

By recognizing the Four Noble Truths and following the Eightfold Path, a person could find release from craving and attachment to the things of the world and liberate oneself from the endless cycle of suffering experienced through rebirth and death. The Truths and the Path are given varying levels of significance by different Buddhist schools in the present day but remain foundational aspects of the faith in all of them.